lack of trust

October 16, 2009 shamslayer

I had a ‘so this is how God views my behavior’ moment. Let me explain. My daughter’s cat, Batman, is living with us (hopefully not forever!) He is basically a loving cat, but occasionally he acts kinda skittish. One moment he’ll love on me, purring like crazy, and the next moment he runs away from me. He did that to me this morning ~ ran from me and I said to him (as if he understood!) “Why don’t you trust me? Why do you run from me? I’m not going to hurt you!” And that’s when it hit me. I do the same thing to my Heavenly Father! I get close to him, purring like crazy (well, maybe not purring!) and then the next moment I’m backing off. Acting like He’s not worthy of my trust. And I could almost hear Him saying to me, when Batman ran off like that, “You do the same thing, my child. One moment you trust me, the next moment you don’t. Do you know how that makes Me feel?” Wow! I hurt my Father’s heart, same as it hurts my heart when Batman runs from me. The last thing I want to do is hurt my Father’s heart. I tend to view my Heavenly Father like I do my earthly father ~ and I run. Come on, Batman (and Beverly) it’s time to trust!!

Entry Filed under: Believing God,Christianity,Faith,Jesus,trusting God,Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
